

# EL DORADO COUNTY BUILDING DIVISION

# OWNER-BUILDERS ONLINE SUPPLEMENTAL APPPLICATION

# DISCLOSURES & FORMS FOR OWNER-BUILDERS APPLYING FOR CONSTRUCTION PERMITS

ASSE	SSOR'S PARCEL NUMBER			
	IMPORTAN	NT NOTICE TO PROPERTY (	OWNER	
Dear P	roperty Owner:			
An app	lication for a building permit is being submitted ed at:	d in your name, listing yourself as	the builder of the proper	ty improvements
Street		City	State	Zip
respon a build	e providing you with an Owner-Builder Ack sibilities and the possible risks you may incur be ding permit until you have read, indicate onically.	by having this permit issued in yo	ur name as the Owner-Bo	uilder. We will not issue
1.	IDENTIFY WORKERS' COMPENSATION	ON COVERAGE		
EMPI ADDI	VING: FAILURE TO SECURE WORKERS' COLOYER TO CRIMINAL PENALTIES AND CITION TO THE COST OF COMPENSATION, REST, AND ATTORNEY'S FEES.	VIL FINES UP TO ONE HUNDR	ED THOUSAND DOLLA	RS (\$100,000), IN
	KER'S COMPENSATION DECLARATION y affirm under the penalty of perjury one of the		one of the following and	sign below)
	I have and will maintain a certificate of co Industrial Relations as provided for by Sec is issued.			
	Policy Number			
	I have and will maintain workers' compensation insurance, as required by Section 3700 of the Labor Code, for the performance of the work for which this permit is issued. My worker's compensation insurance carrier and policy number are:			
	Carrier	Policy No		Expiration Date
	I certify that, in the performance of the wo manner so as to become subject to work to the workers' compensation provisions of S	ers' compensation laws of Cali	fornia, and agree that, if	I should become subject
2.	OWNER'S ACKNOWLEDGEMENT AN	ID VERIFICATION		
DIREC	TIONS: Read and initial each statement below	v to signify you understand or ver	ify this information.	
	I understand a frequent practice of unlicense that erroneously implies that the property of Builder, may be held liable and subject to se her employees while working on my propert willfully acting as an Owner - Builder and am	wner is providing his or her own le erious financial risk for any injurie ty. My homeowner's insurance m	abor and material person es sustained by an unlicer ay not provide coverage	ally. I, as an Owner - nsed person and his or for those injuries. I am

I understand building permits are not required to be signed by property owners unless they are responsible for the construction and are not hiring a licensed Contractor to assume this responsibility.
 I understand as an "Owner-Builder", I am the responsible party of record on the permit. I understand that I may protect myself from potential financial risk by hiring a licensed Contractor and having the permit filed in his or her name instead of my own.
 I understand Contractors are required by law to be licensed and bonded in California and to list their license numbers on permits and contracts.
I understand if I employ or otherwise engage any persons, other than California licensed Contractors, and the total value of my construction is at least five hundred dollars (\$500), including labor and materials, I may be considered an "employer" under state and federal law.
 I understand if I am considered an "employer" under state and federal law, I must register with the state and federal government, withhold payroll taxes, provide workers' compensation disability insurance, and contribute to unemployment compensation for each "employee." I also understand my failure to abide by these laws may subject me to serious financial risk.
I understand under California Contractors' State License Law, an Owner-Builder who builds single-family residential structures, cannot legally build them with the intent to offer them for sale, unless <i>all</i> work is performed by licensed subcontractors and the number of structures does not exceed four within any calendar year, or all of the work is performed under the contract with a licensed general building Contractor.
 I understand as an Owner-Builder, if I sell the property for which this permit is issued, I may be held liable for any financial or personal injuries sustained by any subsequent owner(s) that result from any latent construction defects in the workmanship or materials.
I understand I may obtain more information regarding my obligations as an "employer" from the Internal Revenue Service, the United States Small Business Administration, the California Department of Benefit Payments, and the California Division of Industrial Accidents. I also understand that I may contact the California Contractors' State License Board (CSLB) at 1-800-321-CSLB (2752) or <a href="www.cslb.ca.gov">www.cslb.ca.gov</a> for more information about licensed contractors.
 I am aware of and consent to an Owner-Builder building permit applied for in my name, and understand that I am the party legally and financially responsible for proposed construction activity at the site location above.
_ I agree that, as the party legally and financially responsible for this proposed construction activity, I will abide by all applicable laws and requirements that govern Owner-Builders as well as employers.
 _ I agree to notify the issuer of this form immediately of any additions, deletions, or changes to any of the information I have provided on this form.

Licensed contractors are regulated by laws designed to protect the public. If you contract with someone who does not have a license, the Contractors' State License Board may be unable to assist you with any financial loss you may sustain as a result of a complaint. Your only remedy against unlicensed Contractors may be in civil court. It is also important for you to understand that if an unlicensed Contractor or employee of that individual or firm is injured while working on your property, you may be held liable for damages. If you obtain a permit as Owner-Builder and wish to hire Contractors, you will be responsible for verifying whether or not those Contractors are properly licensed and the status of their workers' compensation insurance coverage.

Before a building permit can be issued, this form must be completed and signed by the property owner and returned to El Dorado County Building Department.

## 3. DEED RESTRICTION CERTIFICATION

The undersigned declares that he/she has read and understands the deed restrictions/CC&Rs applicable to the subject property, and that the improvement herein applied for does not violate any such restrictions. I also certify that I have submitted plans to the Architectural Control Committee (ACC) or to the local homeowners association, where required by said CC&Rs or deed restrictions, and have obtained approval for said improvement.

This declaration is required by the El Dorado County Code to verify that all property restrictions have been acknowledged prior to the issuance of a building permit. In requiring this declaration, the County assumes no responsibility for verifying the owner's compliance, or does the County assume any responsibility for enforcement of any private deed restrictions.

#### 4. CONDITIONS OF PERMIT ISSUANCE

Commencement of construction consists of placing concrete for a foundation. It does not include grading, installation of utilities, or landscaping. Diligent pursuit is defined as completion of the project within the approved construction schedule and/or permit duration. The expiration date shall not be extended unless the project is determined by El Dorado County to be the subject of legal action, which delayed or rendered impossible the diligent pursuit of the permit.

No construction or grading shall commence until all preconstruction conditions of approval are satisfied as evidenced by El Dorado County's acknowledgement of this permit. In addition, no construction or grading shall commence until the permittee has acknowledged receipt and acceptance of the contents and all conditions of approval of the permit.

In the event the title of the real property is transferred, transfer of the permit shall not be effective until the new owner advises El Dorado County of the transfer and acknowledges, in writing, receipt of the permit and acceptance of its conditions of approval. Until the new owner acknowledges receipt and acceptance of the permit, the current owner shall be responsible for compliance with all permit conditions of approval.

**APPLICATION EXPIRATION** Applications for permits become null and void 365 days from the application date if the permit is not issued. Without further notice, all submitted documents are disposed of unless requested to be returned. Plans and documents will not be mailed back at any time during the process and must be "picked up" at the Building Safety Division offices during business hours.

The applicant may withdraw an application at any time by written notice and a partial refund may be issued if the plan check has not been initiated. Fees may be refunded as established by the El Dorado County Building Fee Schedule.

The applicant is responsible for providing information required by other agencies during the application process.

#### **ISSUED PERMIT EXPIRATION**

Once issued, the permit will expire two years from the date of issue. The permit holder is responsible for this date as no other expiration notification will be given by the County.

A permit may be renewed for an additional one-year period prior to or within 30 days after the expiration date, provided the permit holder has acted in good faith to pursue construction and has regularly completed inspections during the two-year period. The permit holder may apply for a second one-year permit extension, subject to the provisions above.

The permit holder may apply for a permit reactivation after the four-year permit period, if the project has not received a final inspection approval and the permitted structure is not occupied.

# **CONDITIONS IF PERMIT PROCESS IS NOT COMPLETED**

If the permit process is not completed by an approved final inspection and expires, no further notice will be given and a Notice of Non-Compliance will be filed with the County Recorder on the property title. If the structure is occupied without approved occupancy, a notice will be forwarded to the Code Enforcement Unit for further action.

The permit holder may withdraw the permit at any time, as long as no work has been done and as long as the Building Safety Division is notified by written notice before expiration of the permit. The permit holder may be entitled to a partial refund of building fees, as established by the El Dorado County Building Fee Schedule, if the permit is withdrawn within two years of the issued date.

The Planning and Building Department has no jurisdiction over fees charged or refunded by other agencies. Applicants and permit holders must work with other agencies accordingly.

## 5. PERMITTEE'S ACCEPTANCE

I have read the permit application and the conditions of approval and understand and accept them. I understand that I am responsible for compliance with all conditions of the permit. I understand that certain permit fees and mitigation fees associated with this permit are nonrefundable once paid to El Dorado County. I understand that it is my sole responsibility to obtain any and all required approvals from all other agencies that may have jurisdiction over this project, whether or not listed.

## 6. **DECLARATION BY OWNER**

Please note: all information provided to this department is "public record" and available upon request

By my signature below, I certify to each section included on all pages:

I have read this Epermit application supplement and attest that the information I have provided is correct. I agree to comply with all applicable city and county ordinances and state laws relating to building construction. I authorize representative of El Dorado County to enter the above-identified property for inspection purposes. I realize that applications for permits become null and void 365 days from application date if the permit is not issued and that all submitted documents are disposed of without further notice, unless requested returned and no refund of application fee.

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that I am the owner of the property listed above at "Project Location or Address" and I personally completed the above information and certify its accuracy.		
Property Owners Signature:	Date:	