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The State Board of Equalization Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Office is committed to helping California 
taxpayers understand property tax laws, and be aware of exclusions and exemptions available to them.

PROPERTY TAX SAVINGS: HOMEOWNERS’ EXEMPTION

Homeowners’ Exemption 
Did you know that property owners in California 
can receive a Homeowners’ Exemption on the 
home they live in as their principal place of 
residence?

The Homeowners’ Exemption, which allows a 
$7,000 exemption from property taxation, is 
authorized by Article XIII, section 3, subdivision (k) 
of the California Constitution and implemented 
by Revenue and Taxation Code section 218. The 
exemption reduces a dwelling’s assessed value 
on a qualified residence. 

To qualify for this exemption, the following 
conditions must be met:

• You must occupy the dwelling as your principal 
residence as of January 1 of each year to 
qualify for the Homeowners’ Exemption for 
that year. 

• If you purchase or build a home after 
January 1, and a Homeowners’ Exemption 
was not granted to the prior owner, you can 
receive the exemption on the supplemental 
assessment if you occupy the home within  
90 days. 

• You must be the property owner, co-owner, 
or a purchaser named in a contract of sale. 
You can also be a person who holds shares 
or membership in a cooperative housing 
corporation, whereby the share entitles you  
to live in a specific home. 

A dwelling is a building, structure, or other 
shelter constituting a place of abode, whether 
real property or personal property, and any land 
on which it may be situated. Eligible properties 
include, but are not limited to a single-family 
residence, multi-unit residence (such as a duplex), 
condominium, or unit in a cooperative housing 
project. Other examples of a dwelling are a 
houseboat, manufactured home (mobilehome), 
owned improvements situated on government-
owned land and is a taxable possessory interest 
(such as a cabin situated in a national forest), and 
land you own in which you live in a state-licensed 
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trailer or manufactured home.  
(Note: A state-licensed trailer or manufactured 
home is not subject to property taxation; rather, 
it pays the vehicle license fee, an in-lieu fee, 
to the Department of Housing and Community 
Development.) 

Potential for Tax Savings
Property taxes are based on the assessed value 
of your property. The Homeowners’ Exemption 
reduces your property taxes by deducting $7,000 
from your property’s assessed value before 
applying the tax rate, and given the one percent 
statewide property tax rate, this generally equates 
to $70 in property tax savings. Depending upon 
the amount of local voter-approved bonds in your 
area, if any, the overall tax rate could be higher 
than one percent, which would increase your tax 
savings. For example, if your overall tax rate is  
1.17%, the tax savings would be  
$82 ($7,000 x .0117).

How to Apply for the Homeowners’ 
Exemption
Complete form BOE-266, Claim for Homeowners’ 
Property Tax Exemption. Obtain the claim form 
from the County Assessor’s office where the 
property is located. Submit the completed form 
to the same office. Once the exemption has been 
granted, it remains effective until a change in 
eligibility occurs, such as selling or moving out of 
the home. Annual filing is not required.

When to File Your Claim
The claim may be filed any time after you become 
eligible, but no later than February 15, to receive 
the full $7,000 exemption for the fiscal year, 
which begins July 1. A claim that is filed after 
February 15, but on or before December 10 of 
the same year, will be allowed 80 percent of the 
exemption ($5,600). No exemption for the current 
year can be allowed if filed after December 10. 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/tra/
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=218
https://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/sample_boe266.pdf
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If you purchase a home or complete its 
construction after the January 1 lien date and you 
occupy the home within 90 days, you can file for 
the exemption on the supplemental assessment 
if the prior owner did not have the exemption. 
To receive 100 percent exemption on the 
supplemental assessment, you must file within 
30 days of the date on the Assessor’s Notice 
of Supplemental Assessment. If you miss the 
30-day deadline, 80 percent of the exemption will
be allowed if a claim is filed on or before the date
the first installment of taxes on the supplemental
tax bill becomes delinquent (this date is printed
on the tax bill). Thereafter, no exemption is
available on the supplemental assessment.

Helpful Hints 

•  If you are claiming the intergenerational
transfer exclusion for transfers of a primary
residence between parents and children or
grandparents and grandchildren, you must
file for the Homeowners’ Exemption within
one year of acquiring the property to qualify
for the exclusion as of the date of transfer.
(Note: In the case of inheritance, the date of
death is considered the date of transfer for
property tax purposes, even if the property
was held in a trust and remains in the trust
after the death. For further information on
the intergenerational transfer exclusion,
see Publication 800-1, Information Sheet,
Transfers Between Parents and Children, and
Publication 800-2, Information Sheet, Transfers
Between Grandparents and Grandchildren,
which can be accessed at www.boe.ca.gov/tra/
infosheets.htm.)

•  The exemption does not apply to property that
is rented, vacant, or under construction on the
lien date, nor does the exemption apply to a
vacation or secondary home of the owner.

•  The Homeowners’ Exemption or the Disabled
Veterans’ Exemption is available on a principal
residence. If you qualify for the Disabled
Veterans’ Exemption, it is better to receive
the Disabled Veterans’ Exemption since the
amount is higher. For additional information
on the Disabled Veterans’ Exemption, see
Publication 800-7, Information Sheet, Disabled
Veterans’ Exemption.

•  The exemption cannot be granted to a
corporation or other legal entity, such as a
Limited Liability Company, that holds title to
the property, even though the person holds
100 percent interest in the corporation or legal
entity. In some cases, a partnership that owns a

home can qualify for the Homeowners’ Exemption 
where one of the partners lives in the property as 
their principal place of residence if no rent is paid 
to the other partner and the occupant pays all 
expenses of maintaining the residence. 

•  You must provide your social security number
and, if applicable, your spouse’s or domestic
partner’s social security number on the claim
form. If you do not have a social security number,
a Medicare or Medi-Cal number can be provided.
If this information is not provided, it may result in
a delay in processing the claim or disallowance of
the exemption.

•  A married couple or registered domestic partners
who have more than one residence may only claim
one Homeowners’ Exemption unless each have
established their own separate principal places of
residence and provided the County Assessor with
documentation of separate residences.

•  You must notify the County Assessor in writing
if you are no longer eligible for the Homeowners’
Exemption on a property, such as when you sell
the property, no longer live in the property as
your primary residence, rent out the property,
or occupy it as a vacation rental or secondary
home. You must notify the County Assessor’s
office by December 10 of the fiscal year for which
the exemption is to be terminated. However, if
the County Assessor receives information such
as a new deed recording on the property from
the recorder’s office or change in ownership
statement from a new owner, that will satisfy
notification, and the exemption will be removed.

Where to Find Additional 
Information 
Visit the State Board of Equalization’s (BOE)  
website at www.boe.ca.gov for additional property 
tax information. 

For information on the Homeowner’s Exemption, 
visit www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/homeowners_
exemption.htm. 

Refer to www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/prop-tax-rules.
htm for information on:

• Property Tax Rule 135, Homeowners’ Property
Tax Exemption, and

• Rule 135.5, Homeowners’ Property Tax
Exemption-Supplemental Assessments.

Visit the County Assessor’s website where the 
property is located. The BOE’s website has contact 
information for each County Assessor in California 
and is available at www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/
countycontacts.htm.

http://www.boe.ca.gov/tra/infosheets.htm
http://www.boe.ca.gov
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/homeowners_exemption.htm
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/prop-tax-rules.htm
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/countycontacts.htm



